Birthday – weekend Getaway

My man turned a year older on the 1st of August and we had a great evening: dinner, movie…. We didn’t want to go over bored on the day as we had planned a Shot-Left weekend together, oh no but he still got his gift which he opened the day after because of getting home super late that evening.

I gave him a chance to pick anywhere he wants to go in the country for a weekend away to finish off his birthday celebration. After I failed months earlier to choose a place for him. Lol haish I was busy. And wow he picked a place within a day…… wait for it, wait for it, he choose Drakensburg.

Okay for those of you that don’t know my man, he is a proud Zulu man, and sometimes he speaks Zulu I don’t understand lol. A while back he used to talk about (we should take a drive around KZN and watch ukhahlamba. Kwaaaaa I didn’t know what Ukhahlamba is people. Sorry I’m not a snob, and I’m not Zulu either. But ke now I know what ukhahlamba is…….

Anyway 3rd August we left Jwanasburg…. Thulebona respects time bandla tjo 10:00 is 10:00 not 10:01!!!! No but like for real for real he does. He took a day off for that day as we planned to leave just before 12. Guess what time we left?????? 14:30…. Because his girlfriend is such a worksholic….. I planned to leave the office at 11:00 and rush home, mind you I still needed to pack L…. I actually left work at 13:00 yohhhh the embarrassment I felt when I saw him. *claps once* I guess his now used to me being late LOL. But we’ve made a deal on how to work with me around time.

Enroute N3 via Harrismith onramp……. The drive to Drakensburg. We both were soooooo excited and kissed a lot. And a lot and a lot. And talked so much and planned what we were going to do when we get to our destination. Woah wait did I mention I had my work laptop on my lap as he was driving? Kwaaaaaa no he is not kidding when he says I’m a workaholic LOL. But I plan to change. It was just the two of us yall can imagine the bonding this gave us…. To leave drama that Joburg has, and all the rush and tjatjarag people I won’t even bother to waste my time typing their names.

Thulebona makes Plan A and Plan B when he plans, he had printed the map incase the GPS looses connection. Yep that is my superman kids. He probably also has plan C which he doesn’t tell me about. That’s how organised he is.
So the map estimated +-4 hours drive we were starving and decided to stop at the first garage and get food and all energy drinks to last us until atleast closer to the place. By the way I eventually closed my laptop and gave him my full attention. Even switched off my work phone too.
Leaving GP almost 15:00 we had estimated to arrive around 18:30/19:00. We passed Harrismith, haai no it’s far shem…..we made laughs of the cars and people we saw, and made good jokes we both understand. A very very long drive this was. He is soo strong I didn’t even have to take the wheel, he drove all the way .
It was now almost 18:30 and it’s still winter therefore it gets dark very quickly. And we started getting worried to drive in a town we didn’t know of…. Finally we passed a small town called Winterton….. I felt *halala we now in the Zulu land* as the GPS said 20km to your destination.

We finally arrived. Parked and checked in the place is http://www.thenest.co.za the hostess was very welcoming and kinda LOUD and had such a big smile. Woahhhh I forgot to mention they had our reservation as Mr and Mrs Mncube. I don’t know if it was an error from the hotel or Thulebona but he didn’t seem bothered to make them fix it. We were ushered to our (Garden Rondaval), standard hotel, Bed, Mirror, Bathroom that was separate from the toilet… shocked us both . And the display to have your coffes and store whatever food you have. the thing about baby and I is we love clean things, the first thing we checked right when we checked in…. was the cleanliness. And our room was super clean kids. We were exhausted, and just wanted to eat and freshen up… it was late to view the place….. first thing that Thulebona said was he could see the stars clearer than at home. Haai he loves imvelo bandla…. Me on the other hand…. I hardly look at the sky at night when I’m at home so what he saw I didn’t see HAHAHAHAHAHA.

Anyway we went to the dining room….. yes the place serves 6 course menu dinner… elke evening. Yohhh have you ever mara!!!! We indulged with the delicious food we were served with. Thoroughly enjoyed, the waiters were such warm hearted people who served each plate with a smile. Not these joburg people that just want money they forget what a service is nx. Which reminds me about the girl who served us on baybees birthday she was so rude I refused to tip her…. But that’s a story for another day.
Went back to our room, freshened up…. *coughs* you don’t need details of what a night we had. But it was AMAZING no Such a BOMB.
Saturday 4th – day two of our stay. Breakfast *breakfast *breakfast*. We love food shem end of the story. Well served breakie. And a lot of options one could choose from. Right after breakfast we Took a walk… the place was stunning. You have to be there to experience this.
Went to freshen up drove out to see (Ukhahlamba) that my handsome always talks about. I’m going to let the pictures do the talking.
You see how beautiful our Mzansi is? Don’t be tjatjarag and visit bo Paris and America first before you see your home land….. it was HOT, but love the landscape.
We finally came back to the hotel and got served lunch. Another 10/10 rate… haai shem whoever their Chefs are we wanted to take them home with us….. LOL. And from that we went outside to lay and bask in the sun and 1 hour passed we both dozed off and woke up in the afternoon. We took a walk along the river that was next to the hotel… and climbed on a mini khahlamba hahahhahahha. Broke a nail , but he had my hand all the time. I was out of breath you can imagine…. But it was such a beautiful walk… we both enjoyed it. Reached the river,

this is baby personal favourite:and i like this too:
God has blessed me with a handsome man 🙂 the birthday boy .

Got to talk a little and came back to our room. It was almost 6. Decided to lay in bed and talk……. *Always does wonders* take notes kids.
It started getting chilly. And we got under blankets, 20:00 Dinner time….. all we could think of was the options they serve lol. I told you baby and I love food. We enjoyed the food again and decided to go sit by the fire place and chill together as the other room they had a dance what what.

Thulebona loves sport so we decided to also go to the tv room and catch up on the Olympics. Found two old couple there who were very nice to us since we had arrived.

And it was after 10:00 we went to bed. It started drizzling that night. I love rain by the way. We were super exhausted fell asleep with our cloths on and woke up in the middle of the night and took them off.
Sunday 5th Last day for us at the Nest. Breakfast. Enjoyed as usual. Packed and checked out by 10:00. Another +-4 hours drive head of us back to Jozi maboneng…….. Metro fm is such a good radio station mawuhleli no Darly on a Sunday.
(I have to share this picture, each time you leave the hotel this guy would give you a salute hamba kahle sign) such gesture we both loved.


And folks that is the long and short of how we spent honey’s birthday weekend away. He was a happy man going home and as the woman in his life nothing felt fulfilling to hear him say thank you honey. Well that is important next to the I love you words.
This weekend gave us so much pleasure, and getting even more closer together. We’ve been through *ish already and trust me when I say shit. The weekend did our relationship a world of good, despite everything that has happened we both don’t regret ever trying to make us work. Because all of it has been soooo worth it.
He got to know another side of me of laughing for days for 1 thing. And I learned something else about him too. Which I don’t need to share with you.
For what it’s worth, those in relationships/marriages take a weekend away together, no matter how long you’ve been involved with each other just get away from your norm and be in a whole new world for a couple of days, and see how alive your love will come. And happy.
It’s done us good justice and I’m sure it could work for other people too.
Until next time.

we took a lot of pictures, sadly we cant upload all, some of our own personal eyes to see lol. but i’m sure this gives an idea of how awesome our weekend was.

From Thulebona and i

let love live in your hearts and in your homes.

Leave a Reply

